Australian Qualification Framework

CLET issues qualifications in accordance with the The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) that establishes the quality of Australian qualifications.

The AQF is the national policy for regulated qualifications in Australian education and training. It incorporates the qualifications from each education and training sector into a single comprehensive national qualifications framework. The AQF was first introduced in 1995 to underpin the national system of qualifications in Australia encompassing higher education, vocational education and training and schools.


The AQF provides the standards for Australian qualifications. It is an integrated policy that comprises:

  • The learning outcomes for each AQF level and qualification type
  • The specifications for the application of the AQF in the accreditation and development of qualifications
  • The policy requirements for issuing AQF qualifications
  • The policy requirements for qualification linkages and student pathways
  • The policy requirements for the registers of:
    -  organisations authorised to accredit AQF qualifications
    -  organisations authorised to issue AQF qualifications
    -  AQF qualifications and qualification pathways
  • The policy requirements for the addition or removal of qualification types in the AQF, and
  • The definitions of the terminology used in the policy.

This page contains excerpts from the AQF's website, to learn more, visit

Be our friend!